D a n c e   w o r k s

L A T E S T   W O R K  :



Five prominent Nordic dancers have each made an adaptation of a choreographic script. The basis of the adaptations is Janne-Camilla Lyster’s  «Escape and Transformation», a literary score crafted in such a way that connection lines will occur as the dancers come together. This encounter becomes the staged performance. 


The five dancers have worked independently for three months in their resident countries. During these three months they have each created an adaptation of their individual part of the score. Through the dancers’ response to the score, a distinctive poetic universe arises, where the human, vulnerable and playful are unfolded in moments of anticipation and renewal, clarity and amazement. 



Choreographic script and artistic leader: Janne-Camilla Lyster

Adaptation and dance: Cecilie Lindeman Steen (NO), Ulrika Berg (SE), Bára Sigfúsdóttir (IS), Vera Nevanlinna (FI) og Marie-Louise Stentebjerg (DK)

Music: Markus Hernes

Costume and visual design: Olav Ryland Myrtvedt

Light design: Kyrre Heldal Karlsen

Producer: Annika Ostwald

The project is supported by: Arts Council Norway and Fund for Sound and Image, Fund for Performing Artists, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (BE) and Summer Studios (Rosas/PARTS, BE), The Norwegian National Program for Artistic Research and Oslo National Academy of Arts, The Academy of Dance.

Photo: Marie Sjøvold

Co-production: Dansens Hus, Norway

Premiere: November 19th at Dansens Hus, Oslo

Tour: October 15th 2016: Ke∂ja Dance Encounter, Vilnius. December 10th 2016: Bordelines Festival at Tanzfaktur Köln.

Selected choreographic work


First shown at Kunstnernes Hus, Oslo, September 3rd

Duration: 15 minutes

Adaptation and performance:

Janne-Camilla Lyster

Choreographic script: Hanne Ørstavik

The choreographic script was commissioned by Janne-Camilla Lyster as a part of her artistic reserach fellowship "Choreographic poetry: Creating Literary Scores for Dance" (2014-2017)


OFF (2013)

Premiere: April 26th at the Norwegian Opera & Ballet, site specific outdoor performance. Commisioned work.

Duration: 45 minutes

Choreography: Janne-Camilla Lyster. Dancers: Gry Bech-Hanssen, Marianne Kjærsund, Shi Pratt and Christine Kjellberg. Composer: Markus Hernes. Light design: Kyrre Heldal Karlsen. Production: UR Produksjoner.

Photo: Knut Bry.

DYNAMIC (2014)

Premiere: May 23rd 2014 at the Norwegian Opera & Ballet

Duration: 25 minutes

Adaptation, performance and staging:

Janne-Camilla Lyster

Choreography, text and direction:

Deborah Hay (US) www.deborahhay.com

QUARTET (2011)

Premiere: June 1st, at the Norwegian Opera & Ballet, Stage 2

Duration: 10 minutes

Choreography: Janne-Camilla Lyster. Dance: Clair Constant, Caroline Roca, Frank van Tongeren, Craig Cathcart. Music: Julian Skar. Baroque harp: Giovanna Pessi. The piece was made and showed as a part of the Ballet Laboratory.

Selected collaborations

VEGGEN (2015)

Premiere: February 26th at the Oslo National Academy of the Arts

Duration: 45 minutes

Choreography and dance: Terje Tjøme Mossige and Janne-Camilla Lyster. Scenography: Olav Ryland Myrtvedt. Light design: Kyrre Heldal Karlsen. Sound design: Øystein Skar.


Premiere: January 30th

Duration: 1:05 hours

Choreography: Haagenschamgen by Ida Wigdel and Janne-Camilla Lyster in collaboration with  dancers Terje Tjøme Mossige, Erik Rulin and Stian Danielsen. Scenography: Thale Kvam Olsen. Light design: Kyrre Heldal Karlsen. Sound design: Øyvind Osmo Eriksen.



Premiere: October 5th, 2013 at Dramatikkens Hus, Oslo

Duration: 40 minutes

Choreographic script and direction:

Janne-Camilla Lyster

Adaptation and performance: Irene Theisen, Marie Male Kalstø and Ingrid Haakstad


A choreographic transcription of Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor

Premiere: November 11th 2010 at La Poderosa, Barcelona, Spain.

Commisioned work.

Duration: 9 minutes

Choreography and dance: Janne-Camilla Lyster. 


Premiere: March 8th at Dansens Hus, Oslo

Duration: 40 minutes

Choreography: Eva-Cecilie Richardsen

Co-creating dancers: Janne-Camilla Lyster, Cecilie Lindemann Steen and Gry Bech-Hanssen. Music: Espen Sommer Eide.

Photo: EC Richardsen/Marte Vold